God Breaking Through Moments

This post is part of the January 2011 Synchroblog  “The Manifestation Of God”.  This month’s synchroblog is inspired by The Season Of Epiphany, which runs from January 6 to the day before Ash Wednesday.  You can find a list of all participants at the end of this post.

An “epiphany” is a sudden realization, a breakthrough discovery, a brilliant idea, a light bulb coming on, one of those “AHA!” moments.

For instance … Archimedes, the Greek Philosopher, who discovered the law of buoyancy (known as The Archimedes Principle) had an epiphany one day when he stepped into his bathtub.

The story goes that the king of the day wanted a new crown made entirely of gold.  After the goldsmith made it, the king was suspicious that the goldsmith had made it of iron or silver and coated it with gold. The king did not want to destroy the crown in case it was gold, so he asked Archimedes to figure out if it was pure gold or not without destroying the crown. Archimedes thought about this day in and day out until one day while getting into his bath he discovered the principle that bears his name. Supposedly, he was so excited and anxious to share his discovery that he jumped out of the bathtub and ran through the streets naked shouting “Eureka!” (which in Greek meant “I found it!”)

We have all had those types of experiences when a solution or a realization seems to pop into our mind out of nowhere, but in reality the idea has come from within ourselves and has been produced from our own ability to think and reason.

And then … there is another kind of “epiphany” – it shares the idea of realization, discovery and light bulbs coming on – but it is different in that it isn’t produced because of our own thinking and reasoning – this epiphany comes to us through a Manifestation of God. It is a revealing, a shining forth, an appearance. God reveals something to us and “Eureka!” we have an epiphany – about God, ourselves, truth, others, love, suffering, life etc. etc. We could not have arrived where these epiphanies take us by our own ability to think and reason – it is not an experience that we can create from within, it requires “God breaking through”. These kinds of experiences – these “God breaking through” moments – always change us.

As D. H. Lawrence said, “people can do anything they want with an idea, but a truly new experience changes everything. Before you can do anything with it, it does something with you.”

The problem with these epiphanies is that when you describe them to others they often sound rather unimpressive. Of course, there are exceptions – a burning bush, a talking donkey, the transfiguration of Jesus – but for most of us it is something we hear or observe or read and when we go to relay the story and our epiphany to someone else they look at us like “how did you get that out of that???” But we know! We know that God has broken through to us because we have realized or discovered something (and in a way) that only God could have expressed or revealed.

Sometimes I have had a “God breaking through” moment about something that I thought I already knew and, in a way I did know it, but only in my head (as they say) – not in my heart – not in the way I needed to know it – not in the way that it formed me.

For instance, years ago I was preparing to speak to a group of Christian women around Valentines Day.  Well, I was preparing to prepare … in other words, I had no idea what I was going to say. I figured that love was a good subject but had no good ideas about what I should say about love. I was becoming pretty anxious about it as the event was only a few days away. I was new in the community and I wanted to be liked and accepted. I wanted to say something worthy, memorable, profound about love – something that would endear me to this new group that I wanted to fit in with. I went to sleep that night asking God to give me “something good” to say and also asking myself why in the world I had accepted the invitation to speak.

At some point during the night I dreamt that I was a student at an elite dancing academy.  I loved it there and I loved my instructor. I was a good student, a good dancer and I had a good relationship with my instructor. I was trying out for an upcoming show and I felt confident that I would be accepted for one of the parts, but when the instructor read off the names of those who made it into the show my name was absent. I was shocked and disappointed. How could she not pick me? I was very good and she liked me. Why?

Next thing I know (you know how dreams jump around) I am rehearsing with the dancers who were going to be in the show because one of them got sick, had to drop out and I was chosen to take her place. I was very excited and felt that I was just where I should be. The instructor was giving us direction and correcting us as we were rehearsing and then suddenly the rehearsal was over. As we were all walking out, the instructor asked me to stay behind for a moment. After the other dancers left she told me that I wouldn’t be able to be in the show because I just wasn’t good enough yet. I was crushed and devastated. I began to cry.

All of a sudden I realize I am standing in a humongous industrial kitchen. I really have no idea what I am doing there or why I am wearing a chef’s coat. I look around and find a man preparing some food at one of the nearby steel counters. I walk over to him and ask him what is going on. He tells me the Executive Chef is looking for a new Sous Chef and wants to talk to me. I’m dumbfounded! I am not much of a cook and much less a chef.  Why in the world would he want to talk to me? Where did I even get this chef’s coat?  How did I get here? What in the world is going on?

Just when I am about to run out of there the Executive Chef walks in.  He walks right up to me, hands me a chef’s hat and says, “Liz, I want you to be my new Sous Chef.”

I stare at him in disbelief and can only manage to ask, “Why?”

He just looks at me and says, “Because I love you.”

At that very moment I woke up.

“Eureka!” I knew in a way that I had never known before that God loved me unconditionally – not because I was good at something – not because I performed well – not because of what I knew or had learned or perfected – he loved me and accepted me – period.

I also had an idea (hope?) that being accepted and loved by my new community wasn’t going to be based on my ability to give a good presentation.

And on top of that I had what I needed to give my presentation.

Sure, I would have told you before that dream that God’s love for me was not based on my performance – but after that dream it was real to me.  I didn’t just know what someone had taught me or what I had read – I knew it in my heart in a way that would change me and change the way I would prepare to speak before a crowd, the way I would approach a new community, the way I would take care of my family, the way I would help others, the way I would be a friend, the way I would think, the way I would live.  I knew it in a way that made me more vulnerable, more transparent, more real, more me.

It was one of those “God Breaking Through” moments and I was forever changed.

_________________________________________________________

I will post the list of participants here as they become available:

Mike Victorino – What To Do?

Beth Patterson – A Robust Universe Includes The Botched and Bungled

Jeff Goins – Epiphany: The Manifestation Of God

Jeremy Myers – Pagan Prophecies Of Christ

Mark Smith – Manifestation Of God

Minnow – When God Shows Up

Alan Knox – A Day I Saw Jesus

Ellen Haroutunian – Stories of Epiphany

Liz Dyer – God Breaking Through Moments

Kathy Escobar – orphans

Josh Morgan – The Manifestation Of God

Steve Hayes – Theophany: the manifestation of God

Sarah Bessey – In which Annie opens the door of her heart

Christine Sine – Eve of Epiphany – We Have Come, We Have Seen, Now We Must Follow

Tammy Carter – Paralysis In His Presence

Katherine Gunn – Who Is God

Peter Walker – Epiphany Outside Theophany (Outside Christianity)

Annie Bullock – God With Us

Jacob Boelman – Where God Shows Up

15 thoughts on “God Breaking Through Moments

  1. kathyescobar

    liz, this was so pretty. thanks for sharing. so many parts resonated but i was reminded in reading this and hearing about your dream God is always revealing these beautiful little nuggets of truth and wisdom and hope and love to us in s many wild and mysterious ways. i love that dream & the depth of knowing you are loved that resulted…

    Reply
  2. bethmyra

    Dear Liz,
    I loved this post! And some of my biggest epiphanies have been from dreams (maybe that’s the most effective way God has around my defenses??). One that changed my life was where I too knew not that I was loved, but that I AM love. Wow…still living into that one and it’s been 20 years ago.

    I always appreciate what you share, Liz. Thank you. And thank you for organizing the synchroblog!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Where God Shows Up « A New Vision

    1. Liz Post author

      The funny thing Tammy is that I have always thought of myself as a pretty good dancer and a pretty bad cook:>) Having said that I guess one could come to the conclusion that the dream was produced from my own thinking but I believe that God used those things he knew I believed about myself to convey something to me in a way that I can’t imagine imagining.

      Reply
  4. Peter J. Walker - EmergingChristian.com

    Awesome post, Liz! I love this: “for most of us it is something we hear or observe or read and when we go to relay the story and our epiphany to someone else they look at us like “how did you get that out of that???” Totally! The spiritual conclusions I draw for my own personal use are always ridiculous to the people around me, and that’s all right. I don’t use those for teaching – and rarely for writing/blogging examples. Those are just for Peter 😉

    Reply
    1. Liz Post author

      Peter – Yeah – I really went back and forth about even using this dream but once I remembered it I couldn’t seem to get it out of my mind in order to let some other idea form – so I just went with it. It was a very mystical and meaningful experience for me but I feel inept at conveying it adequately.

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Link List for January 2011 Synchroblog – The Manifestation of God « Godspace

  6. Pingback: God With Us | Marginal Theology

  7. Pingback: When God Shows Up « Minnowspeaks Weblog

Leave a comment