One Word For 2011

I think Steve Fitzhugh and Dan Britton started the idea of replacing New Year’s resolutions with a one word theme for the upcoming year.

The one word theme is to be a word to focus on, meditate on and reflect upon throughout the new year.  It has become a popular trend over the last few years and I’ve heard a lot of positive feedback, so I thought I would give it a try this year…

My one word for 2011 is (drumroll…………………………..)

AWAKEN


I’ve chosen “awaken” as my word because there have been thoughts and ideas I have been pondering during Advent (see this post Advent: A Journey of Awakening) that are captured in the word “awaken”.  I have been thinking a lot about the value of intentionally being present in the moment, of being aware of what makes me feel most alive, of being watchful for divine activity, of being conscious and giving recognition to thoughts and feelings even if they are not positive (I have a tendency to push away, stop, repress or ignore negative thoughts and feelings).  So, throughout the coming year I am going to focus on this theme of “awaken” and see where the journey leads to and what is revealed.

Do you like the idea of choosing one word as a theme for the upcoming year?  If so, what word would/will you choose and why?

2 thoughts on “One Word For 2011

  1. Pingback: Better Than Hope | Liz Dyer | Provoketive Magazine

  2. Pingback: Better Than Hope « Grace Rules Weblog

Leave a comment