Prayer For The Week – Help Me To Know & Be Love

Lord, help me to know and be love.

If I speak in the tongues of men and angels, but have not love,

I have become sounding brass or a tinkling cymbal.

Lord, help me to choose words that are loving.

And if I have the gift of prophecy and know all mysteries and

all knowledge, and if I have all faith so as to move mountains,

but have not love, I am nothing.

Lord, help me to value love more than knowing and more than faith.

And if I dole out all my goods, and

surrender my body to the flames

but have not love, I gain nothing.

Lord, help me to do everything I do with love.

Love is long suffering,

love is kind,

it is not jealous,

love does not boast,

it is not inflated.

Lord, help me to be patient and kind, generous and humble, so that I may love.

It is not discourteous,

it is not selfish,

it is not irritable,

it does not enumerate the evil.

Lord, help me to take my eyes off of myself and my own desires, so that I may love.

It does not rejoice over the wrong,

but rejoices in the truth.

Lord, help me to rejoice in the truth that you are love.

It covers all things, it has faith for all things,

it hopes in all things, it endures in all things.

Lord, help me to embrace a radical kind of love that has the power to change everything.

Love never falls in ruins;

but where there are prophecies, they will be abolished;

or tongues, they will cease;

or knowledge, it will be superseded.

For we know in part and we prophecy in part.

But when the perfect comes, the imperfect will be superseded.

When I was an infant,

I spoke as a child, I reasoned as a child.

When I became an adult,

I put childish things behind me.

For now I see through a mirror in an enigma, but then I shall see face to face.

Now I know in part, but then I shall know fully as I am now fully known by you.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love;

but the greatest of these is love.

Lord, help me to know and be love.

1 Corinthians 13:1-13 (modified by me)

One thought on “Prayer For The Week – Help Me To Know & Be Love

Leave a Reply

